Buddhism Eightfold Path


Buddhism enlightenment path has 8 fold paths. In Buddhism enlightenment means to realize. And the historical Buddha first explains what the eightfold path is in his first sermon after his enlightenment.

The Eightfold Path is:

  1. Right View
  2. Right Intention
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration

While these paths are also divided into three main sections: wisdom, ethical conduct and mental discipline.

Wisdom: it has a two path. The right View and Right Intention. Right View doesn’t mean about believing in doctrine, it perceives the nature of us and of course the world around us. While the Right Intention refers also to the energy and commitment one needs to be fully engaged in Buddhist practice.

Ethical Conduct: Right Speech, Right Action and Right Livelihood, this is the ethical conduct path. This will calls us to take care in our speech, actions and especially our daily lives to not harm others and to cultivate wholesomeness in ourselves. This part ties into the precepts.

Mental Discipline: The one who develop the mental discipline to cut through delusion is through Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Concentration.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2009 - 2015 ©Dalai Lama - Buddhism & Buddhist Beliefs – Isn't it time you were enlightened? | Powered by Wordpress Themes | Online Coupons | High Speed Internet