3 Types of Buddhism


All people know what Buddhism really is. But maybe the only things they don’t know especially for those who are not follower and believer that the Buddhism was divided in three types and in three sections.
Theravada Buddhism

Theravada Buddhism – this is the first and the southern Buddhism that the word comes from pali language which means that “the Doctrine of the Elders”. Their biggest aim is to use the meditation to train mind, and to encourage freedom of the mind from suffering. This kind or freedom suffering will allow you to reach the greatest spiritual goal the Nirvana. Theravada Buddhism is the only surviving school from the earliest years of Buddhism.


Mahayana Buddhism – This is Buddhism in eastern Buddhism. This section only teaches the Pali Canon, this is the religious text in Theravada Buddhism but it also includes additional texts beliefs. This type of Buddhism believes that the person must practice universal compassion, and that is the altruistic quest of the Bodhisattva to attain the “Awakened Mind” of Buddha hood. This has also the level of mysticism involved.

Tibetan Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism – This is the third type of Buddhism that was located in the Northern. This type of Buddhism is also considered to be a type of Mahayana Buddhism, but this was also embraces other teachings, texts, and practices that some are not seen in the eastern type. This is also sometimes called Tantric Buddhism or Vajrayana and this was uses both Mahayana and Theraveda scriptures.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2009 - 2015 ©Dalai Lama - Buddhism & Buddhist Beliefs – Isn't it time you were enlightened? | Powered by Wordpress Themes | Online Coupons | High Speed Internet